Browsing our collections, but uncertain where to start? Below you will find a random selection of our collections.

Watson Film Scrapbook

University of Rochester - Memorial Art Gallery

Dates of Original: 1928 - 1938

Emily Sibley Watson’s son James Sibley Watson, Jr. was an important modernist publisher and amateur filmmaker in the 1920s and 1930s.  This scrapbook, compiled by Emily Sibley Watson, documents her son’s filmmaking career.

Explore the Collection >>>

Freeport Historic Photographs

Freeport Memorial Library

Dates of Original: 1900-2011

Freeport is a village in the town of Hempstead, Nassau County, New York on the South Shore of Long Island. A settlement since the 1640s, it was once an oystering community and later a resort popular with the New York City theater community. It is now primarily a bedroom suburb but retains a modest commercial waterfront and some light industry.

Explore the Collection >>>

Hofstra Buildings Collection

Hofstra University - Hofstra University Library

Dates of Original: 1935-1993

Hofstra University is a private, non-profit, nonsectarian institution of higher learning. Its main campus is located in the village of Hempstead, New York. It originated in 1935 as an extension of New York University (NYU) called "Nassau College – Hofstra Memorial of New York University at Hempstead, Long Island"; in 1939, the institution separated from NYU and gained independence as Hofstra College, and in 1963, Hofstra College gained university status.

Explore the Collection >>>

Judicial Portrait Collection

Appellate Division Fourth Department Law Library

Dates of Original: 1998 - 2013; c. 1870 - 1890; 1960 - 1980

The New York State Unified Court System is the Judicial Branch of the New York State Government. The highest court is the Court of Appeals, followed by the intermediary appellate courts. The Appellate Divisions of the Supreme Court are divided regionally into 4 departments. The Appellate Division Fourth Department is located in Rochester and consists of Western and Central New York, as well as parts of the Adirondack region. The Seventh Judicial District is a local district court; it serves Cayuga, Livingston, Monroe, Ontario, Seneca, Steuben, Wayne, and Yates Counties.

Explore the Collection >>>